My preciousssss…

on

Philippians 2:3 

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves. 

So it’s been almost a year since I started this blog and one thing still remains…
I’m am still as selfish and prideful as I was a year ago…


I also still have a unhealthy love for cookies…

It’s funny how transparent you are to everyone but yourself. A year ago, I started writing because I felt like God was calling me to use my gifts of pop culture references and horrible jokes to reach a demographic that would enjoy hearing the word in a way that was different. But as I sat here tonight talking to my wife and making excuses on why I haven’t written anything in a while, the real and only reason I haven’t…

Is that I stopped because it became all about me…

I could have sworn that song was about me…

Proverbs 11:2

When pride comes, then comes disgrace,

    but with humility comes wisdom.

I had completely lost the true reason for my blog, to share God word to a sick and broken world though funny pictures and subpar humor. It started as a way to share my love for Christ and his people, but became another way to feed my addiction to recognition and pride.
And being the loving Father that He is, he let it feed that beast until it wasn’t satisfied with what was coming. Then that beast turned on its master and well…

That’s where we are now…

I’m writing tonight to tell God, and you all who read this that I am sorry. The flesh is weak, and in my case, has been weak for along time. I’ve fed that beast for too long…

And now I give it all to Him. All of it. 

So, I’m here I guess to start a new chapter in the book of the Chasing Rabbits blog. A chapter where the hero realizes he’s been the issue all this time and now changes his ways to defeat the beast that he set out to in the first place. 

I guess this is what Froto felt like, standing there at the foot of the volcano with the One Ring. Power and glory if he keeps it, yet it will eat him away on the inside. Or peace and love if he tosses it. In this world, it can be a hard choice…

But watching it fall as I toss it and reach out to my Father is much better than turning into Gollum…


Like seriously…what was he anyway…

Be a difference maker 

J

Leave a comment