Frankincense and Mur…DER

Ed note: I joined a creative writing small group at my church this week! Our first assignment was to write a journal entry from anyone in the Bible. Here is what I wrote! I’ll share each one on here as well though the next 12 weeks!

Here is where our diary entry begins…

The date was written in the upper left corner, then scratched out and a different date written below.

Dear diary,

30 pieces of sliver! (Scratched in bold, big letters)

I can barely buy a rotten field for 30 pieces of silver. What is Caiaphas thinking?!? The one person who has systematically torn apart all he has worked so hard to set in place is only worth 30 silver! I have half a mind to call the whole thing off…

No, this has to be done now. He’s getting too powerful and forgetting where he comes from. There is a reason people say “Nothing good comes from Nazareth” and he’s the prime example. Healing on the sabbath, the whole money changers debacle, talking about us basically becoming cannibals just to reach God…it’s been one crazy, ridiculous thing after another…

Like when that blockhead Peter tried to walk on water, oh man, I laughed so hard I almost fell in myself. And when Jesus waited 3 days before raising his best friend Lazarus just to show how “powerful” he was…that was pretty hardcore.

That crazy zealot who said it was better to go on a suicide run with Jesus than to stand by and do nothing, that was actually fun….

What am I doing!!!??

I don’t care for these less that perfect people. They were all just selfish and prideful dudes. Always trying to see who was the best apostle like it was a game. Oh! And Peter, James and John this and Peter, James and John that. Why was I never invited to spend time with Jesus. I wanted time with him too. No, he just sticks me with the money back but calls me out in front of everyone when I try to be responsible about it. That perfume would have helped a lot of people if sold.

And maybe I was dipping into it from time to time, but what was he giving me? Living like a vagabond outside the cities, in dank caves with putrid water.

Ciaphas was right, I deserve better. I think that’s why he sought me out for this. He knows how much I’m worth. And he promises that Jesus won’t be hurt to0 badly. He just wants to scare him to shut him up. And even if the crowds get crazy, Pilate will not crucify and innocent man…

At least that’s one thing the Romans are good for, cause their calendar is a big pile of mess. I can never remember the difference between Jewish Wednesday and Roman Friday….

Why is the same day, I waste so much ink scratching it out…

Be a difference maker

J

Leave a comment